Global warming skeptic set to chair House Science Committee


Marco Rubio is unsure how old the Earth is. He is a member of the Senate’s Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee.

Michele “Man-Made Climate Change is ‘Manufactured Science” Bachmann sits on the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence.

The soon-to-be forgotten moron on climate change, Todd “legitimate rape” Akin, sits on the Science Committee, as does Paul Evolution, Embryology and Big Bang Theory are “lies straight from the pit of hell, Climate Change is a Hoax” Broun.

Accepting reality and scientific findings isn't the GOP's strong suit.

Via Amanda Terkel at HuffPo:

Rep. Lamar Smith (R-Texas), a skeptic of man-made global warming, is set to take over the House Committee on Science, Space and Technology in the 113th Congress.

That makes about as much sense as the Republican party's inability to accept the 2012 election results and Susan Rice's qualifications and credibility, let alone their unwillingness to take a step or two into the 21st century.

Here's their the new chairman of the Science Committee, in all his ignorant glory:

"The [ABC, NBC and CBS television] networks have shown a steady pattern of bias on climate change... During a six-month period, four out of five network news reports failed to acknowledge any dissenting opinions about global warming, according to a Business and Media Institute study. The networks should tell Americans the truth, rather than hide the facts."

He also referred to environmentalists and others who warn about the seriousness of the issue as "global warming alarmists."

This despite an overwhelming consensus within the scientific community that what we humans are doing to Mother Earth is a major cause of climate change. Maybe Lamar should take a peek at disturbing images like these:

Dems, please do your activist thing and help us win back the House in 2014. Then maybe we'll get an informed representative with a functioning brain, common sense, and contemporary sensibilities to chair the House Committee on Science, Space and Technology.